Us on Facebook

Us on Instagram

«EVERYTHING GOES RIGHT AND LEFT IF YOU WANT IT»
PAINTING AND COLLAGE BY SERGEI SVIATCHENKO

Sergei Sviatchenko is an artist and architect who left for Denmark in 1990 and visited Uzhhorod, Ukraine for the first time since leaving in the autumn of 2017. 

 

During these 27 years Sviatchenko has managed to become one of the most sought-after artists of Denmark, to found a non-profit gallery and to gain worldwide fame as the creator of his own direction in collage art called "less-collage". The artist divides his art into two main branches, the "right" (painting) and the "left" (collage). In the 2000s a number of monographs devoted to Sviatchenko’s painting and collages were published in Danish and Austrian publishing houses, and in 2012 a two-volume "Everything Goes Right And Left If You Want It" was published in Berlin "Gestalten", combining both branches of the artist's work.

 

YOU, International Sculpture Park, Silkeborg, Denmark  2017

 

Sergei Sviatchenko was born on October 7, 1952 in Kharkiv. He graduated from the architectural faculty of the Kharkiv Academy of Art and Architecture (now Kharkiv National University of Construction and Architecture) in 1975, then he moved to Kyiv, where he earned PhD at the Kyiv School of Architecture (now Kyiv National University of Construction and Architecture) in 1986. In the late 80's he co-founded the Center for Contemporary Art "Soviart" in Kyiv and was one of the key organizers of the first Kyiv exhibitions of contemporary art. Among them, the landmark projects Kyiv-Tallinn (1987) and Kyiv-Kaunas (1988) at the Polytechnic Institute, as well as the First Joint Exhibition of Soviet and American Artists (Kharkiv, 1988), “21 views. Young Modern Ukrainian Artists" (1989) and "Ukrainian Painting (60s-80s)" (Kyiv / Odense, Denmark / Munich, Germany, 1990), "Flash. A New Generation of Ukrainian Art" (Kyiv, 1990).

 

Night Water Is Especially Pleasant As With Aqualung, 1990

Natalia Matsenko: "The theory of joy and pleasure", the basis of the "right" branch of your work, is a pictorial series, which includes the landmark work "In the Mountains of Joy" (1989) from the exhibition "Ukrainian Painting (60s-80s)". But it does not have any kind of manifest rationale, a literal articulation in the form of a theory, right?

 

Sergei Sviatchenko: "The theory of joy" is created at the level of a subconscious proclamation. It is rather emotional-physical. The 1989 work "Beyond the Mountains of Joy" was inspired by the pictorial works of the Peredvizhniki artists, the most replicated works of the time that almost all Soviet people knew. It seemed that this art was the only and necessary for contemplation of all citizens of the Soviet Union. Faded reproductions, inserted in standard "gold" frames, surrounded us everywhere: in schools, clinics, plants, factories and party offices. I grew up surrounded by these stereotypes.

 

Any way, 1991Condition for, 1991

 

 

 

Paradoxical in this situation was that the original painting of these artists had nothing to do with faded reproductions. This painting was based on the deepest sensual emotions, impeccable pictorial quality and technique, the mood and joy of contemplation, extraordinary light and color. When my father and I visited the Kharkiv Art Museum to watch Repin's "Reply of the Zaporozhian Cossacks" he told me: "Look how the faces are painted, such characters." And I really felt it all. Take the "The Rooks Have Come Back" or "Bogatyrs". This is a magnificent painting, which had nothing to do with the stereotypes surrounding it. But it was necessary to understand this distance, it was necessary to be my father, to put this understanding into me.

 

FROM THE SERIES  Capacity for Conjuring Illusion, 2013

In my youth, I was very keen on the Peredvizhniki and set myself the task of transforming the sensual, emotional outbursts that I received from viewing their works, into abstract painting. My first paintings were created in this vein. Of course, later my style has been transformed, texts and symbols were added, a new palette emerged, but anyway, all that I’ve done is I took Peredvizhniki and transformed them into an abstract painting. From the stereotype to abstract expression.

 

FROM THE SERIES  The Other Side of Llifeless Landscapes, 2014

NM: Your comment on the stereotype is curious. Perhaps this was the historical moment, due to a long existence in the ideological framework, but interest in working with stereotypes was characteristic of the Ukrainian art of the 80s and 90s. And from completely different positions. For example, Tistol and Reunov, who in parallel fought in their "Volitional Edge of National Post Eclecticism" for "the beauty of the stereotype".

 

SS: Yes, this is an interesting moment. This could be a separate text on the stereotype. Communicating recently, we found so much in common. Absolutely different people who developed in completely different contexts and had completely different priorities. And still we are in contact somewhere.

 

FROM THE SERIES  Gentle Waving III, 2012 

 

NM: Your division of creativity into "right" and "left" branches is made by analogy with the hemispheres of the brain: sensory and rational. Was it your conscious position, to separate these roles or has it come to life naturally?

 

FROM THE SERIES  Resisting Interpretation, 2013

SS: It happened naturally. "The theory of joy" is the "right" part of my work. "Left" part of my work are collage series; in particular the LESS series, formulated as the theory of "aesthetic surprise", where I collect personal artistic priorities, built on a subconscious, associative and impulsive thinking, drawing inspiration in the depths of memory, specifically in the works of Alexander Rodchenko and Gustav Klucis.

 

The choice of color, laconism and strength of compositions, the tendency to use elements on an absolutely diverse scale and leave, in particular, a lot of empty space — these characteristics in their work had a definite influence on me. I was introduced to their creativity also by my father when I was a student of the Faculty of Architecture. He himself did a lot of collages and this technique was always present in our house.

 

FROM THE SERIES  Less, 2012

FROM THE SERIES  Less, 2012

 

Less-collage is a strict minimization in the selection of elements to create images. Works from the Less series, which I create since mid-2000, consist of only two or three elements, soaring on bright backgrounds. I deliberately severely limit the number of fragments, and pure saturated colors that fill the background space do not overshadow images, but make them visually more prominent.

 

FROM THE SERIES  Less, 2012                FROM THE SERIES  Less, 2013

By combining two theories, "joy and pleasure" and "aesthetic surprise", a line appears, specifically, horizontal and vertical links, the principles of layers and connections, of movements to the right and to the left, where almost everything begins in my world, where the essential and code system, which is being built from the very foundation to the top, still works.

 

Wall paper installation, Tredium  International Danish Business Academy, 2010

 

 

NM: In a sense, it can be said that this "left" and "right" is a metaphor for some "external" component of your creativity and more intimate, closer to personal history, to childhood memories, to the sensory perception of reality. Their connection is also a kind of collage.

 

SS: The fact is that quite recently, just a couple of days ago, I found out that my father and mother congratulated each other in their correspondence with various clippings from photographs and magazines. I did not know about it. When they asked me who your inspirers were, I always said that it was Rodchenko, Lisitsky, Klutsis and so on. But it turns out that these were my mom and dad who did collages, congratulating each other on some jubilees. And in the end it grew into a whole direction of my work.

 

FROM THE SERIES Ground Force behind the lamb, 2014FROM THE SERIES Ground Force behind the lamb, 2014   

 

In February 2018 a large group exhibition opens in London, with all the stars of contemporary collage, which I was invited to. Five star artists of a collage, and I’m among them. Do you know why? I’m pretty old. I have been working with collage since 1983. And there are not so many people in the world who are constantly and so consistently working with this medium. Now there are many young talented artists, 25-30 years old, who are engaged in collage, but they are still young and are just beginning their journey.

 

NM: But now the digital technologies are popular, allowing to minimize the costs and giving more opportunities.

FROM THE SERIES Library Time, 2016

FROM THE SERIES Library Time, 2016 

 

SS: Yes, but I have everything "hand maid". Rick Poynor, when he wrote about my collages, noticed that I even have my own cut. That I cut the paper in a certain way. I don’t cut it precisely, it doesn’t interest me, I cut it the way I like. And now this appearing contour is interesting for its dynamics.

 

FROM THE SERIES Slept on the top of the Eiffel Tower, 2016FROM THE SERIES Slept on the top of the Eiffel Tower, 2016

NM: It seemed to me that despite all the rationality and laconicism of your collages, there is a lot of corporeality in the forms used. And this sensuality, characteristic of your painting, can be seen in collages. All these shapes, lines are felt as something alive.

  

SS: I'm so glad that you just now said this word, because this is the key word of my work, "sensuality". Once, during our walks in Gorky Park (in Kharkiv - NM) with my teacher, professor of architecture V. Antonov, who, by the way, was a great friend of A. Tarkovsky, he spoke to me about catharsis, which, for example, occurs when you go for a long time in the dark forest, and then suddenly you come to a meadow fully lit by the sun. This feeling of purification and joy is the main component of my work.

 

FROM THE SERIES  Collided, 2016 Installation view

 

Or when you stand and watch a stunning sunset. We (in Denmark - NM) have a place where, during sunset, people, up to a hundred, just stand on the shore, and there is only one line ahead, where the water meets the sky, and people watch as the sun slowly-sits down, and there remains a small piece of it, and a moment later you can’t see it at all. And do you know what everyone is doing at this moment? They clap.

 

That's the same feeling. And I was amazed when I saw it. When the sun sets in the water it's a natural process, why would one applause? But they clap, because this is a tremendous natural sensual performance. I treat such moments very carefully.

  

Wall paper installation  Other buildings and grey ideas,  2013 , Paris

 

And the second is collage as the life status of all of me. Connection, layering of the elements of our life, relationships, anything. Horizontal and vertical communication. The principles of collage can be fit to absolutely any life role.

 

These are the principles that I work with.

 

Strange Days, 2016Coronation, 2015

 

And light plays a huge role for me. Light as an element of life, an element of mood. Not just light, but a stream of light, a powerful filling beam of natural light that falls and illuminates, cleanses you — and you become another person.

 

 

 

Interviewed by Natalia Matsenko

Мы в Facebook

Мы в Instagram

Живопись и коллаж Сергея Святченко: «Всё движется вправо и влево, если ты этого хочешь»

 Сергей Святченко – художник и архитектор, уехавший в Данию в 1990 году и впервые с момента отъезда посетивший Украину, (г.Ужгород), осенью 2017.

 

За эти 27 лет Святченко успел стать одним из самых востребованных художников Дании, основать некоммерческую галерею и получить мировую известность как создатель собственного направления в искусстве коллажа под названием «less-collage» (от англ. “less” – меньше).  Свое творчество художник условно  разделяет на две основных ветви – «правую» (живопись) и «левую» (коллаж). В двухтысячных годах в датских и австрийских издательствах вышел ряд монографий, посвященных отдельно  живописи и коллажам Святченко, а в 2012 в берлинском «Gestalten» был издан двухтомник «Everything Goes Right And Left If You Want It. The Art of Sergei Sviatchenko» («Все движется вправо и влево, если ты этого хочешь. Искусство Сергея Святченко»), совместивший обе составляющие творчества художника.

YOU, International Sculpture Park, Silkeborg, Denmark  2017

Сергей Святченко родился 7 октября 1952 года в Харькове. В 1975 году окончил архитектурный факультет Харьковского инженерно-строительного института (ныне — Харьковский национальный университет строительства и архитектуры), после чего в 1986 году переехал в Киев, где окончил аспирантуру Киевского инженерно-строительного института (ныне — Киевский национальный университет строительства и архитектуры). В конце 80-х стал одним из основателей Центра современного искусства «Soviart» в Киеве и одним из ключевых организаторов первых киевских выставок современного искусства. Среди них знаковые проекты “Киев-Таллинн” (1987) и «Киев-Каунас» (1988) в Политехническом институте, а также Первая совместная выставка советских и американских художников (Киев, 1988), «21 взгляд. Молодые современные украинские художники» (1989) и «Украинское малARTство (60-80г.г.)» (Киев / Оденсе, Дания / Мюнхен, Германия, 1990). «Спалах. Новое поколение украинского искусства» (Киев, 1990).

Night Water Is Especially Pleasant As With Aqualung, 1990

Наталия Маценко: «Теория радости и наслаждения», основа «правого» крыла вашего творчества,  это живописная серия, в которую входит и знаковое произведение «За горами радость» (1989) с выставки «Украинское малARTство (60-80 гг.)». Но какого-то манифестарного обоснования, буквальной артикуляции в виде теории она не имеет, верно? 

Сергей Святченко: «Теория радости» создана на уровне подсознательной прокламации. Она скорее эмоционально-физическая. Работа «За горами радость» 1989 года была вдохновлена живописными работами художников-передвижников, самыми тиражируемыми работами того времени, которые знали почти все советские люди. Складывалось впечатление, что это искусство было единственным и необходимым для созерцания всех граждан Советского Союза. Выцветшие репродукции, вставленные в стандартные «золотые» рамки, окружали нас везде – в школах, поликлиниках, на заводах, фабриках и в партийных кабинетах. Я вырос в окружении этих стереотипов.

Any way, 1991Condition for, 1991

 

 

 

Парадоксальным в этой ситуации являлось то, что оригинальная живопись этих художников не имела ничего общего с выцветшими репродукциями. Настоящая живопись была основана на глубочайших чувственных эмоциях, безупречном живописном качестве и технике, настроении и радости созерцания, необыкновенном свете и цвете. Когда мы с папой в Харьковском художественном музее шли смотреть работу Репина «Запорожцы пишут письмо турецкому султану», он мне говорил: «Посмотри, как написаны лица, какие характеры». И я действительно все это прочувствовал. Возьмите «Грачи прилетели» или «Три богатыря». Это же великолепная живопись, которая никакого отношения к окружающим ее стереотипам не имела. Но нужно было понять эту дистанцию, нужно было быть моим отцом, чтобы вложить в меня это понимание.

FROM THE SERIES  Capacity for Conjuring Illusion, 2013

В юности я был очень увлечен передвижниками и поставил себе задачу трансформировать чувственные, эмоциональные вспышки, которые я получал от просмотра их работ, в абстрактную живопись. Первая моя живопись вся создана в этом ключе. Конечно, на протяжении долгого времени она трансформировалась – добавлялись тексты, символы, возникала другая палитра, но все равно все, что я сделал, – я взял передвижников и трансформировал их в абстрактную живопись.  От стереотипа – в абстрактную экспрессию.

FROM THE SERIES  The Other Side of Llifeless Landscapes, 2014

Н.М.: Любопытно ваше замечание относительно стереотипа. Возможно, таков был исторический момент, вследствие долгого существования в идеологических рамках, но интерес к работе со стереотипом был характерен для украинского искусства 80-90-х. При чем с совершенно разных позиций. Например, Тистол и Реунов, параллельно боровшиеся в своей «Волевой грани национального постэклектизма» за «красоту стереотипа».

 

 

С.С.: Да, это интересный момент. Это мог бы быть отдельный текст, посвященный стереотипу. Общаясь недавно, мы нашли столько общего. Абсолютно разные люди, которые развивались в абсолютно разных контекстах и имели совершенно разные приоритеты. И все равно мы где-то соприкасаемся.

FROM THE SERIES  Gentle Waving III, 2012 

 

Н.М.: Ваше разделение творчества на «правое» и «левое» крыло сделано по аналогии с полушариями мозга – чувственное и рациональное. Это была ваша сознательная позиция – разделить эти ипостаси или так естественным образом сложилось?

FROM THE SERIES  Resisting Interpretation, 2013

С.С.: Так естественно получилось, само так легло. «Теория радости» является «правой» частью моего творчества. «Левой» частью моего творчества являются коллажные серии; в частности серия LESS, сформулированная как теория «эстетической удивленности», где происходит коллекционирование личных художественных приоритетов, построенных на подсознательном, ассоциативном и импульсивном мышлении, черпающем вдохновение в глубинах памяти, а конкретно в работах Александра Родченко и Густава Клуциса.

 

Выбор цвета, лаконичность и сила композиций, тенденция использовать элементы в абсолютно разнообразном масштабе и оставлять, в частности, много пустого пространства – эти характерные черты в их работах оказали на меня несомненное влияние. С их творчеством меня также познакомил папа, когда я был студентом архитектурного факультета. Он сам много делал коллажей и эта техника всегда присутствовала в нашем доме.

FROM THE SERIES  Less, 2012  FROM THE SERIES  Less, 2012

 

Less-коллаж – это строгая минимизация в выборе элементов для создания изображений. Произведения из серии Less, над которой я работаю с середины 2000 года, состоят всего лишь из двух-трех элементов, парящих на ярких фонах. Я сознательно строго ограничиваю количество фрагментов, а чистые насыщенные краски, заполняющие фоновое пространство для фрагментов коллажной конструкции, не затмевают изображений, но делают их зрительно более выпуклыми.

 

FROM THE SERIES  Less, 2012                FROM THE SERIES  Less, 2013

Соединением двух теорий, «радости и наслаждения» и «эстетической удивленности», предстает линия, а конкретно – горизонтальные и вертикальные связи, принципы наслоений и соединений, движений вправо и влево, откуда начинается практически все в моем мире, где сущностная и кодовая система, строящаяся с самого основания и до верха, до сих пор работает.

 

Wall paper installation, Tredium  International Danish Business Academy, 2010

 

 

Н.М.: В каком-то смысле можно сказать, что это «левое» и «правое» – метафора некой «внешней» составляющей вашего творчества и более камерной, интимной, ближе к личной истории, к детским воспоминаниям, к чувственному восприятию действительности. Их соединение – тоже своего рода коллаж.

 

 

С.С.: Дело в том, что совершенно недавно, буквально пару дней назад, я обнаружил, что мои папа и мама корреспондируясь между собой, поздравляли друг друга различными вырезками из фотографий и журналов. Я об этом не знал. Когда меня спрашивали, кто ваши вдохновители, я всегда говорил, что это Родченко, Лисицкий, Клуцис и так далее. Но оказывается, что это были и мои мама и папа, которые делали коллажики, поздравляя друг друга с какими-то юбилеями. И в итоге это переросло в целое направление моего творчества.


FROM THE SERIES Ground Force behind the lamb, 2014FROM THE SERIES Ground Force behind the lamb, 2014   

 

В феврале 2018 в Лондоне открывается большая групповая выставка, со всеми звездами современного коллажа, куда меня пригласили. Пять звездных художников коллажа, и я вхожу в эту пятерку. А знаете, почему? Мне же уже немало лет. Я с коллажем работаю с 83-го года. А таких людей не так много найдешь в мире, которые постоянно и так последовательно работали бы с этим медиумом. Сейчас есть много молодых талантливых художников – 25-30 лет, которые занимаются коллажем, но они еще молоды и только начинают свой путь.

 

Н.М.: Но сейчас устремление все же больше к цифровым технологиям, позволяющим минимизировать затраты физического ресурса и дающим больше возможностей.

FROM THE SERIES Library Time, 2016

FROM THE SERIES Library Time, 2016 

 

С.С.: Да, а у меня все «хенд мейд». Рик Пойнор, когда писал о моих коллажах, заметил, что у меня даже есть свой отрез («cut»). Что я режу бумагу определенным образом. Я не качественно вырезаю – меня это не интересует – я режу так, как мне нравится. И вот этот контур, который появляется в системе отрезки, он интересен своей динамикой.

FROM THE SERIES Slept on the top of the Eiffel Tower, 2016FROM THE SERIES Slept on the top of the Eiffel Tower, 2016

Н.М.: Мне показалось, что несмотря на всю рациональность и лаконичность ваших коллажей, в используемых формах много телесности. И эта чувственность, свойственная вашей живописи, просматривается и в коллажах. Все эти очертания, линии ощущаются как нечто живое.

  

С.С.: Я так рад, что вы сейчас сказали это слово, потому что это является ключевым словом моего творчества – «чувственность». Когда-то во время наших прогулок в парке Горького (в Харькове – Н.М.) с моим учителем,  профессором архитектуры В. Антоновым, который, кстати, был большим другом А. Тарковского, он говорил со мной о катарсисе, который,  например, происходит после того, как ты идешь долго по темному лесу, а потом вдруг выходишь на полностью озаренную солнцем поляну. Вот это чувство очищения и радости является главной составляющей моего творчества.

 

FROM THE SERIES  Collided, 2016 Installation view

 

Или когда ты стоишь и смотришь потрясающий заход солнца. У нас (в Дании – Н.М.) есть место, где во время заката люди, человек 100, просто стоят на берегу, а впереди только одна линия – воды, и наблюдают как солнце медленно-медленно садится, и вот остается маленький кусочек, а потом раз – и не видно его. И знаете, что все делают в этот момент? Они хлопают. Вот это то же чувство. И я был поражен, когда увидел это.

 

Когда солнце садится на воду – это же естественный процесс, причем тут аплодисменты? Но они хлопают, потому что это потрясающий натуральный чувственный перформанс. К таким моментам я очень бережно отношусь.

 

Wall paper installation  Other buildings and grey ideas,  2013 , Paris

 

А второе – коллаж как жизненный статус всего меня. Соединение, наслоение  элементов нашей жизни, отношений, всего чего угодно. Горизонтальные и вертикальные связи. Принципы коллажа можно переложить в абсолютно любые жизненные ипостаси.

  

Вот те принципы, с которыми я работаю. 

 

Strange Days, 2016Coronation, 2015

 

И еще колоссальную роль для меня играет свет. Свет как элемент жизни, элемент настроения. Не просто свет, а поток света – мощный наполняющий луч естественного света, который падает и освещает, очищает тебя – и ты уже другой человек.

 

 

 

Беседовала Наталия Маценко